Mohamed Salah named PFA Player of the Year ahead of Kevin De Bruyne as Liverpool ace beats Man City star to top prize

Posted Tuesday, April 24, 2018 by

Mohamed Salah named PFA Player of the Year ahead of Kevin De Bruyne as Liverpool ace beats Man City star to top prize

DELIGHTED Liverpool star Mohamed Salah has been crowned PFA Player of the Year.

England boss Gareth Southgate congratulated PFA player of the year winner Mo Salah

A delighted Salah said: "It's a big honour. I've worked hard and I'm very happy to win it.

"[The first Egyptian to win?] Hopefully I'm not the last one! I'm very proud to win and I've worked very hard.

"You're comparing your name with some great names. To break the Premier League record is something huge in England and all over in the world.

"There are still three games to go. I want to break this record and also break the one for (42-game season). Let's see what will happen."

Salah added: "It's an honour to win this as Player of the Year in the Premier League and especially because it's voted by the players. So I'm very happy and very proud to win it.

"From day one I left the Premier League I wanted success here ... I think I left and I came back as a different person ... I didn't have my chance (at Chelsea)."

The Egyptian fought off competition from Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne to scoop the prestigious individual prize on Sunday night.

Salah has scored an incredible 31 Premier League goals during his first season at Anfield, and has also helped himself to nine assists.

The former Chelsea man has been instrumental in Liverpool's top four push under Jurgen Klopp.

Salah joined the Reds from Roma last summer for £37million and has quickly established himself as a club icon.

The 25-year-old has also been banging in the goals in Europe, leading Liverpool to a Champions League semi-final clash with Roma.

De Bruyne finished runner-up to Salah, with the Belgian sure to be disappointed at missing out on English football's top individual accolade.

He has been the main man in City's incredible title win, scoring eight goals and providing  15 assists this season.

Harry Kane finished third, while Davd De Gea and Manchester City duo David Silva and Leroy Sane were also in the running.

Sane was named Young Player of the Year.

Attention: Third parties may advertise their products and/or services on our website.7M does not warrant the accuracy, adequacy or completeness of their contents.
Your dealings with such third parties are solely between you and such third parties and we shall not be liable in any way for any loss or damage of any sort incurred by you.